home | site map | LIGO home

2012 Annual NSF Review of aLIGO
11-13 April 2012, LIGO Hanford Observatory [LHO]

Note: Your LIGO.ORG Kerberos username and password will be needed to access some documents. In this case you will be prompted with an authentication challenge that refers to the canonical example "albert.einstein". You should then respond with your credentials, e.g., "tom.carruthers" and your personal password. Forgot your password?

DCC help

Jump to

I. Agenda, Charge to the Panel, Panel Roster and Breakout Assignments

Agenda   |   Charge to the Panel   |   Recommendations from Previous Reviews for April 2012 aLIGO Review

Panel Roster and Breakout Assignments

Breakout Presentations


Wednesday, 11 April
07:45 Sign-in
08:00 Panel Executive Session, Closed
08:30 Introduction and Charge to the Panel Tom Carruthers
08:40 Introduction and Context David Reitze
09:30 Advanced LIGO Overview David Shoemaker
10:15 Break
10:30 Advanced LIGO Technical Status (1) Peter Fritschel
11:45 Lunch
12:30 Advanced LIGO Technical Status (2) Dennis Coyne
13:45 Installation Status Michael Landry
14:45 Integration, Testing, and Interferometer Acceptance Planning Daniel Sigg, Valera Frolov
15:45 Break
16:00 AdvLIGO Project Performance and Management Report Carol Wilkinson
17:15 Advanced LIGO Risk Status David Shoemaker
17:45 Closed session; Questions for aLIGO team formulated
18:30 Van back to the hotel
19:30 Dinner at the hotel with Committee, NSF Staff, LIGO Staff

Thursday, 12 April
08:00 Breakout Sessions
11:45 Lunch
12:15 Tour
13:45 Breakout Sessions
16:00 Panel Executive Session, Closed
17:30 Van back to the hotel, self-organized dining

Friday, 13 April
08:00 Executive Session, Closed (writing)
10:30 Closing Address
11:00 End of review
11:30 Van to hotel and to airport

II. Breakout Presentations

  1. Optics

  2. Computing

  3. Management

  4. Isolation

III. Review Documents and Background Documents

IV. Attendees


Rich Abbott, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Bob Anderson, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Stuart Anderson, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Lisa Austin, LIGO Lab/Caltech
GariLynn Billingsley, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Rolf Bork, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Aidan Brooks, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Doug Cook, LIGO Lab/LHO
Dennis Coyne, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Peter Fritschel, LIGO Lab/MIT
Valera Frolov, LIGO Lab/LLO
Joe Giaime, LIGO Lab/LLO
Eric Gustafson, LIGO Lab/MIT
Mindy Jacobson, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Peter King, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Jeff Kissel, LIGO Lab/MIT
Mary Kurts, LIGO Lab/LHO
Michael Landry, LIGO Lab/LHO
Albert Lazzarini, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Marty Levine, LIGO Lab/LHO
Ken Mason, LIGO Lab/MIT
Fabrice Matichard, LIGO Lab/MIT
David Nolting, LIGO Lab/LLO
Brian O'Reilly, LIGO Lab/LLO
Claude Poux, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Fred Raab, LIGO Lab/LHO
David Reitze, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Norna Robertson, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Janeen Romie, LIGO Lab/LLO
Rick Savage, LIGO Lab/LHO
David Shoemaker, LIGO Lab/MIT
Abe Singer, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Stan Whitcomb, LIGO Lab/Caltech
Carol Wilkinson, LIGO Lab/LHO
John Worden, LIGO Lab/LHO


Gabriela Gonzalez, LSU
Giles Hammond, U. of Glasgow
Jim Hough, U. of Glasgow
Guido Mueller, U. of Fla.
Sheila Rowan, U. of Glasgow

LIGO is funded by National Science Foundation
and operated by California Institute of Technology and Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Observatories located in Livingston, Louisiana, and Hanford, Washington

updated 23 Jun 2015   ::   contact